The popular Wetspot winter timetrials will be run again this 2018 winter. Thanks to the Wetspot crew for again supporting the winter series.

Details of the timetrials, their location, and the rules they are conducted under, are set out below. An exciting change this year is holding three of the timetrials at Nelligen—on 8 July and 29 July and on 2 September.


Timetrials will commence on Sunday, 3 June at Molonglo Reach (BGCC club house). The 2018 winter calendar is below.

  • Sunday, 10 June NO TIMETRIAL (PNSW Mylestrom or South Australian Riverland Paddling Marathon)
  • Sunday, 17 June, Molonglo Reach, 9 am
  • Sunday, 24 June, NO TIMETRIAL (PNSW Penrith race)
  • Sunday, 1 July at Molonglo Reach, 9 am
  • Sunday, 8 July at Nelligen, 10 am (First round of the Nelligen Cup)
  • Sunday, 15 July NO TIMETRIAL (PNSW Narrabeen marathon race)
  • Sunday, 22 July, Molonglo Reach 9 am
  • Sunday, 29 July at Nelligen, 10 am (round 2 of Nelligen Cup)
  • Sunday, 5 August NO TIMETRIAL (PNSW Terralba race)
  • Sunday, 12 August, Molonglo Reach, 9 am
  • Sunday, 19 August, Molonglo Reach, 9 am
  • Sunday, 25 August, NO TIMETRIAL (PNSW Windsor race)
  • Sunday, 2 September, at Nelligen, 10 am (round 3 of Nelligen Cup)
  • Sunday, 9 September, Molonglo Reach, 9 am
  • Sunday, 15 September, NO TIMETRIAL (PNSW Davistown race)
  • Sunday  22 September, NO TIMETRIAL (PNSW Myall race)


We need volunteers to assist with timekeeping Contact the BGCC Marathon Convenor, Craig Elliott at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. to let us know when you are able to assist.


Non-BGCC/PNSW paddlers are welcome to participate. However, for insurance purposes, they must to pay a $20 single event entry fee. This is a mandatory AC/PNSW requirement. 


The timekeeper is the final arbiter on whether it is safe to conduct timetrials. Lifejackets are mandatory during winter for all paddlers


There are two distances to choose from for timetrials on the Molonglo River: 

  • 2 laps (approx. 9.4km) Start time 9 am
  • 1 lap (approx. 4.7km) Start time 9.05 am

Depending on the number of paddlers, we may combine the two distance starts; so be at the river ready for a 9 am start.

There will also be two distances to choose from for the timetrials at Nelligen on the Clyde River:

  • 2 laps (approx. 10km) Start time 10 am
  • 1 lap (approx. 5 km) Start time 10.05 am

Depending on the number of paddlers, we may combine the two distance starts; so be at Nelligen ready for a 10 am start.

Paddlers must nominate which distance they intend to paddle and record their name, boat number, boat type (eg, K1, SUP, outrigger etc) on the relevant starting sheet. If you change boat class/SUP type during the winter—eg, swap from a TK1 to a K1—you must establish a new PB in the new boat type. Your points will not carry over from the other boat.

You must display a boat number so we can record your time. Boat number holders are available for sale at the club shed or at Wetspot. SUPers who can’t display a boat number must call their number to the timekeeper when crossing the finish line. 

 There is no portaging for the 2018 winter timetrials either in Canberra or Nelligen.


  • Your first race over your nominated distance in this year’s timetrial series will establish your PB for that distance/boat type and earn you six points in the point score competition. 
  • If you beat your PB in a subsequent race (in the same boat type) you will earn nine points.
  • If you paddle within 2% of your PB in a subsequent race you will get six points. 
  • If you paddle outside your PB by more than 2% in a subsequent race you will get three points. 
  • If you do not complete your nominated distance, you will be given a DNF and one point. 
  • If you are the timekeeper, you get six points and lots of commendation!
  • If you miss your nominated start time we will do all possible to work out a time from when you should have started. However, unless we can do this accurately, you may not receive an official elapsed time.
  • Double craft will earn a PB for each crew member. Points earned will be given to both paddlers as individuals. If the boat crew or double boat type changes, it is necessary to establish a new PB.
  • Points earned will be tallied and at season’s end there will be a prize given to the top point scorer. 

Molonglo River course

The start is in line with the blue and red buoys off the beach pontoon. Please warm up in the area east of the start. 

Stay to the right of the course. White buoys indicate some known danger and some caution is required in that area. Paddlers must paddle to the right of the red/pink buoys. Turn at the yellow buoys (the first turn is on the river outside the Hospice the second is at the Monaro Highway Bridge (third/last bridge BEFORE the water ski area). All turns are anticlockwise.

To have your time recorded you must finish to the right of the blue buoy off the club beach. Please don’t pass between the blue buoy and the beach unless you are finishing. This is an international rule and should be followed at club level. A one minute penalty will apply to paddlers who do not finish in this way.

Clyde River course

You will be advised on the day what courses have been set.

Please be aware that the timetrials attract paddlers of various abilities and confidence. Please be courteous to others. When passing slower paddlers tell them you are approaching and on which side you are going to pass. Give room to others on the turns and in the areas where there are potential hazards.

Should someone capsize, the accepted protocol is for other competitors to assist if required. If you assist a paddler who has a legitimate problem or who is in the water advise the timekeeper in order to have a time allowance made for providing assistance. 

For further information in the timetrial series, contact the BGCC marathon convenor. 

Results and the cumulative pointscore will be published on the BGCC website as soon as possible after each timetrial.


Results and the cumulative point scores will be published on the BGCC website as soon as possible after each timetrial.

For further information on the winter timetrial series, contact the marathon convenor, Craig Elliott.